Administrative and Territorial Organization

The modern system of administrative and territorial organization includes the Autonomous Republic Crimea and 24 regions — those of Vinnytsiya the Volyn, Dnipropetrovsk, Donetsk, Zhytomyr, Zakarpattya, Zaporiggya, Ivano-Frankivsk, Kyiv, Kirovograd, Lugansk, Lviv, Mykolayiv, Odesa, Poltava, Rivne, Sumy, Ternopil, Kharkiv, Kherson, Khmelnytskyy, Cherkasy, Chernivtsi and Chernigiv. These regions are further divided into 490 districts.

There are 446 cities in Ukraine, 121 districts in the cities, 907 towns and 10196 village councils.

The cities of Kyiv and Sevastopol are allocated special status by Ukrainian laws.

Territorial organization of Ukraine is based on the principles of unity of the state territory, combination of both centralization and devolution of the state rule, healthy balancing of social and economic development of the regions taking into account their historic, economic, ecologic, geographic and demographic distinctions as well as ethnic and cultural traditions.

These principles are codified in the Ukrainian Constitution.

KosivArt — Original Ukrainian
About Ukraine
KosivArtAbout Ukraine ‹ Administrative and Territorial Organization
© 2004—2020 KosivArt